Blaaaahg

In case you haven't noticed, I have a case of the Blog Blahs.

Lately, it seems like blogging is the thing I just don't have time for. I work, I transport kids hither and yon, I shop, I try (but fail) to keep a clean house, I tackle giant heaps of laundry with all the zeal of a child digging through a mountain of sand with a teaspoon. I cook because I enjoy it, and because someone's gotta feed the boys and their ever-increasing appetites. And when everything goes according to plan, it's good, but when something happens that causes a deviation? It all crumbles and then something's gotta give and, when placed on the triage board, "write blog post" always slips to the bottom of the list.

Take yesterday for example. Bubta (the 8th grader) went to pull a gallon of milk out of the fridge exactly one minute before he had to leave to catch the school bus, and in his haste, he sent a large bottle of vanilla creamer crashing to the floor, spreading its sticky ooze into a very large puddle. He offered to stay to clean it up, but that would have meant him missing the bus and me dropping him at school, which would have made me even later than if I just cleaned it up myself.

And then yesterday afternoon?  Soup Husband Curt called at 5pm to inform me that the Jeep had a flat tire in the parking lot of his new job, which is an hour from home.  So, while he took care of that, he was suddenly out of play for Plan A, which was for him to come home and get dinner for Bubta and the Boss while I shuttled Peezer to Caroling Angels choir practice at church. Instead of using Peezer's rehearsal time to knock off some shopping, I sat in traffic, delivered McDinner to the older boys at home, then went back to pick up Peezer, then drove to the tire store to meet Curt, who was dropping off the Jeep, which we sincerely hope needs only a tire patch and not a new set and wait, did she say "tire store"?

Yes. Yes, I did. Because you see, it was too late to drop the car at the Goodyear store that I like and trust, but the NTB was still open, and conveniently located, and DAMN IT ALL, when you depend on having two cars so that five schedules can be effectively managed, you can't afford to have a flat tire putting one car out of commission. So, gawd help me, we're putting our faith in the shop that required five trips to get a tire pressure sensor fixed after we bought four new tires.

Anyway, the not blogging bums me out because it's something I really LIKE doing. I have a couple of good ideas for posts, too.  I actually jotted notes down for the obligatory "things I'm thankful post" but didn't have time before we left for Thanksgiving weekend to post it. I have a Thanksgiving recap, too, and a lot of great photos. I'd love to kick around the Tiger Woods thing, because the issues are perennial. My cousin (hi Smerz!) wants me to blog about eating homemade sugar cookies and drinking milk at our grandma's table, a hundred years ago when we were kids. I haven't told you anything about Curt's new job, and my sister just adopted a second son, so I have a new nephew. My mom just celebrated a milestone birthday, and I wanted to mortify honor her with some pictures and stories.

So you see, there's material here.

I have no right to expect that any of my six readers will keep coming back here to see if I've written anything new when my posts are once a week or even less frequent.  And honestly, with all the extra activities that happen in December, the blogging deck is not stacked in my favor.  So all I can do is ask for your patience and your loyalty. Keep checking back, OK? And I'll try to get some of this stuff posted here soon.

7 thoughts on “Blaaaahg

  1. Nice to know I’m not the only one spinning my wheels.
    SUGAR COOKIES!!! Actually I think it’s Grandma Sara’s recipe that I use, but either way they are delectable. Breakfast of champions.
    Mom will be _0 for a whole year: there’s plenty of time to get the mortifying blog post up!
    Gotta run: I am VERY UNWISELY sitting at the computer during Ki’s nap when I should be doing a jillion other things.

  2. Good try but you can’t run me off!
    I am lucky if I can get one post up a week!
    I do good getting around to visit!
    ’tis the season with lime!
    <

  3. First of all, just so you know, yesterday the moon was full which meant that everything that could go wrong did, for many people. So, let’s blame the moon right off the bat.
    Second, I know the feeling of stickiness caused by spilled cream. It makes me want to run screaming into the night, which actually I did last night but not because of spilled cream (this time). I slipped on butter in the kitchen floor wearing work shoes. Because everyone has butter on their kitchen floor, right?
    Third, No one human being can possibly do it all. Yet we feel pressured to and often are expected to.
    Fourth, that guy watching TV in his office across the way from you is making me mad. It confirms my new theory that only about 10% of the workday is spent on actual work. But that’s a topic for another day.
    Last but not least, you might do what I do sometimes. Bored at work, I will create a Word document and start writing a post. I can’t get on the internet due to ______ issues related to where I work, but I type everythign in Word, print it off, and then if I have a moment at home re-type it again (don’t ask about why I don’t copy it onto a disk because that also has to do with my job).
    If you have a hectic job, that can be a problem. But if my theory is correct, we are spending 90% more time working than the rest of the world and we need to have more of a balance – blogging and working, 50-50.
    You have some great ideas, and I can’t wait to read about them. Will definitely be coming back to check.

  4. Oh *sigh* I heart you all… Bets, that was my rationale on the timing of that (I’ll surprise her – are you reading, Mom??); Noe Noe, I just bought a whole BAG of limes, girl, you wanna come to MD for some Coronas? And CBW – I have a neighbor who works in a similarly secure govt environment where he has to have like six separate passwords to get into each of his three computers… so I wouldn’t be inclined to raise my eyebrows at the print / retype thing. I often jot them in a notebook while on Metro – but then I never get around to retyping. and now I am *sighing* again… and Mrs F and Titanium, bless you both for sticking around. Truly.

  5. I’m here! I’m here! Suffering from the same malaise-slash-busyness, but I’m here.
    Here’s a hint: no one ever slipped on butter at my house because no self-respecting cat would allow floor butter to go unlicked.
    Also, I compose all my posts in e-mail. Then, if I get distracted, G-Mail automatically saves it for me. Or I e-mail it to myself. I currently have 30 part-written posts in my drafts folder.
    Go Meggy go, and we’ll be here when you get back!

Leave a comment