Navigating the newspaper gauntlet

GOOD MORNING, said the man, smiling broadly as he made eye contact with me. He was holding a stack of Examiner newspapers. As he offered me a copy of his newspaper, he thrust it right into my path and I had to juke to dodge it.

“No thanks, I have the Post,” I smiled back as I continued walking towards the station in my frenzied, not-now-I’m-so-late pace.

“Examiner’s better!” he yelled after me as I entered the tunnel. I turned around and he was looking right at me, still smiling.

I don’t think so,” I replied, meeting his stare and flashing that smile I reserve only for people who are starting to annoy me.

Such is the gauntlet Metro commuters are forced to run at my station each morning. “Helpful” Paper People all but block the entrance to the station, thrusting unsolicited newspapers into the already-full hands of those who are simply attempting to catch a train. On any given morning, there are at least two people, sometimes three or four, whose sole job appears to be to leave the station empty-handed, having provided reading material for harried commuters.

The Examiner competes directly with the Express, which is a boiled-down version of the Washington Post, cut and culled to suit the commuter’s limited attention span. It’s also printed in a tabloid format, half the size of the regular newspaper, and stapled, which means you can read it without violating your seatmate’s personal space, or hold it with one hand if you stand.

One could see this as genius on the part of the newspapers. Plenty of groggy, mute commuters find it easier to just accept the paper and keep on walking.  It’s a captive audience who would rather read something – anything – than sit and stare at their fellow train passengers or pick their cuticles or drool while they snore.

On the other hand, as a card-carrying adult, I am fully capable of supplying myself with enough reading material and/or electronic diversions to last me until my stop in the city. What makes them think I need whatever they’re handing out? Why can’t they just leave stacks of the papers in a box right at the entrance and allow those who desire a copy to pick up their own?

The real problem comes when a bus drops off and a large crowd attempts to funnel through the tunnel at once. The people who actually do want a newspaper gravitate towards the lady who hands them out, causing a bit of a cluster for the rest of us who just want to keep on walking trainward.

Usually I ignore the paper people, but this morning’s exchange was different. I’ve never been challenged by one of these folks. Why did he seek to engage me in a back-and-forth of my-paper-is-better-than-yours? Why should he care what I’m reading?

I’m a loyal Washington Post reader. Two years ago, when we made our ill-fated move to Central Pennsylvania – four whole hours from the White House – the first thing we did was scour the town to see if we could buy The Post. It was a college town, after all, yet even the downtown so-called “News Stand” didn’t carry it. We found it at a gas station / market 13 miles away and happily made that drive each Sunday to pay five bucks for our beloved printed connection to our old life.

Although there is talk of the imminent death of the print media, the fact remains that you can’t read the news on the internet in a subway tunnel. You need hard copy material. They know this. And so they persist in the handing out of unrequested newspapers.

Paper People, here’s the thing: NO THANKS.  I’m sure you get paid for each paper you distribute, but I don’t need you to tuck one into my hands. If I want to read it, I’ll grab it out of the box myself. And even if I don’t take yours, there’s a really good chance that someone who didn’t have the energy to say no has left a copy on the seat of the train, and if so? I’ll just read theirs.  Because, y’know, it’s cool to recycle.

M’kay? Have a good day!

12 thoughts on “Navigating the newspaper gauntlet

  1. You know I dig the tactility of a real, live newspaper, Soup.

    And there’s nothing like the stain of the ink that inevitably rubs off the paper and onto one’s hands, clothing, face, and every single exposed surface within reach. You just can’t get that from the internet.

    Another great commuting tip: a great way to be truly “green” while on Metro is to simply crick your neck a bit and read the paper of your seatmate. Folks simply LOVE that!!

  2. I can not relate to this. I don’t even know where I would go to buy a newspaper in Middlebury. Probably a gas station. The grocery store has the Rutland and Burlington papers. I just usually wait for the 11:00 news to find out that nothing is going on.

    1. Curt – I know you do. Reading the NYT on a Kindle just ain’t the same. Still, I’ll bring my own inky paper – I don’t need people to hand them to me.

      Bets – in DC we hinge on the news! We obsess over it, devour it, talk about it, rehash it, editorialize on it. It’s everywhere. And that’s just one of many things that made PA a bit of culture shock for us.

      Also, I’m guessing you could just read any newspaper you wanted at your place of employ. No need for you to buy!

  3. Oh, here I am, smiling as I picture myself sauntering out onto the driveway to retrieve my daily paper at 5:00AM, which,it may surprise you, was voted PA’s best newspaper. (Doesn’t say much, but even so.) Same thing in FL, except that for our daily I chose a local paper for the puzzles. Can’t beat a NYTimes daily x-word. In that paper, the news doesn’t matter, because, well we’re at liberty, so to speak. And as Bets said, if you want the news you can catch it on Fox or NBC or whatever slant you like.. A.lso, Curt, absolutely, there’s something about hard copy, ink and all notwithstanding. We just talked about e-books in my discussion group, and agreed that for us there is nothing to beat hard copy — somethihng about actually holding the page . . . . .

  4. You left the farm but I didn’t. I need clarity.

    Are the papers they shove at you FREE? Good Gum, I thought they’d be a fortune. And if they’re NOT free, and someone put one in my hand, I guess I’d say “thanks” and walk away, and let it be HIS job to chase me down for his paper back.

    I wouldn’t last a day in the city, would I? I’m going to be eaten alive when I land in DC in July, aren’t I?

  5. Yes, they are free and there are also rows of paper boxes outside the station. More daily newsprint than a girl could ever carry.

    Don’t worry, I will take good care of you. I am bilingual that way. Or bi something or other.

  6. I’m with you, Meg & Curt — a newspaper or magazine in my hand is so much more satisfying than any electronic or online news. I feel bad for all the newspapers and their ongoing struggles to stay fiscally solvent. The Wash Post’s recent changes (reduced daily comics to 2 pages, eliminated separate Business section, etc) are just another aspect of their challenge.

    Laura and I have always thought it would be nice if the WP offered the daily newspaper printed in magazine format — we’d even pay extra for it. It would be much more convenient all around, but maybe the logistics of it make it not viable.

  7. Jack – a magazine format would be cool – the Express is close to that, with the staple and everything, but the thing is, they boil down the news to little digestible bits. I like the big feature stories myself.

    As I was replying to comments on this post, I heard a story on NPR about how there used to be two newspapers in San Francisco that would do theater and arts reviews that used to draw in patrons who might not have sought out the arts, whereas now if a user goes to the internet, they may be less likely to stumble upon content that they’re not already looking for, which means fewer new patrons for the arts.

    I don’t love the recent Post changes, either.

Leave a comment