Sucks the air right out

My father-in-law got one of those new vacuum sealer things at the grocery store recently. He went on and on about it during a recent visit. He showed up with a ring baloney and some cheddar cheese all sealed up for their four-hour trip. My MIL said she’d get me one because “I have a coupon!” But I figured till she sent me the coupon from PA, after she returned from 4 or 5 weeks in Florida, I might just as well pick one up next time I saw it on sale.

So I got one. And I must say, it’s the coolest thing EVER. The idea is that you suck all the air out and can freeze foods with little if any risk of freezer burn! Keep meats forever! I have become a vacuum-sealing fiend. Not only did I seal up four bags of ham left over from Easter dinner (because they just don’t make small hams), PLUS the bone for future soup, I have also discovered other uses. Guacamole from those pouches you buy in the deli section? Keeps for weeks if you seal it. Brown sugar in the pantry? Well, I just started sealing it so I can’t say how much longer it keeps sealed than not, but check back. I’ll be sure to let you know.

Thank goodness I didn’t invest in the whole expensive seal-a-meal system. All I gotta do is watch for the special bags to go on sale and I’m golden.

One thought on “Sucks the air right out

  1. My brown sugar is ALWAYS a brick!! LOL

    Is this a new blog, meg? I got so excited when I saw your comment attached to a url that I rushed right over :)

Leave a comment